Proposals to Enhance Global Health Security
Centers for Disease Control
Email :
Closing Date : August 09 2021, Monday


The Centers for Disease Control is seeking applications to enhance Global Health Security that Strengthens Public Health Surveillance Systems and Preparedness Globally.

This NOFO is intended to support global health security partners to develop or continue the implementation of surveillance activities that focus on protecting and improving public health globally through strategic planning, policy, strengthening surveillance capacities and systems through partnerships. These should build and improve regional and country capacities to prevent, detect, respond, and control infectious disease, strengthen border health security and mitigate public health events of international concern (PHEICs) or other global health threats.

Activities under this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) will focus on protecting and improving public health globally by:

  • strengthening public health surveillance systems;
  • improving the public health surveillance workforce;
  • improving the interface between public health disease surveillance and laboratory systems;
  • reinforcing emergency surveillance preparedness;
  • enhancing electronic disease surveillance platforms and systems; and
  • enhancing the use of surveillance data for public health action.


  • COMPONENT 1: Core Surveillance Activities
  • COMPONENT 2: Reinforcing emergency surveillance preparedness during small outbreak responses.
  • COMPONENT 3: Reinforcing emergency surveillance preparedness during large outbreak responses.
  • COMPONENT 4: Additional surveillance activities as identified by current or future appropriations or funding availability.
  • COMPONENT 5: Reinforcing emergency surveillance preparedness related to emerging infectious disease threats.

Funding Information

  • Approximate Total Fiscal Year Funding: $ 60,000,000
  • Total Period of Performance Funding: $ 300,000,000
  • Estimated Total Funding: $ 300,000,000
  • Total Period of Performance Length: 5 year(s)
  • Expected Number of Awards: 5
  • Approximate Average Award: $ 10,000,000 Per Budget Period


  • Components 1 and 4: Overarching Core Public Health Surveillance Capacity Building
    • Short-Term Outcomes
      • Increased awareness of human and animal diseases of national concern
      • Improved quality, completeness and timeliness of surveillance data
      • Improved information sharing among surveillance and laboratory networks to improve data linkages between the two systems
      • Improved country-specific routine, event-based, and indicator-based surveillance systems
      • Increased number of surveillance workforce trained in data management, analysis, and reporting
      • Improved collaboration and coordination between key global health surveillance partners
    • Intermediate Outcomes
      • Increased use of surveillance data for decision-making
      • Improved ability to follow-up on cases or events of public health importance
      • Enhanced functional system with timely collection and use of data at all levels of the health system
      • Established standards on minimum data elements collected across diseases of public health threat
  • Components 2, 3, and 5: Rapid Response to Small-Scale and Large-Scale Infectious Disease Outbreaks or Other Public Health Emergencies and Emerging Infectious Disease Threats (EIDT)
    • Short-Term Outcomes
      • Strengthened coordination and robust emergency preparedness and response capacities.
      • Improved disease outbreak case management and infection control.
      • Shortened time to detect highly infectious disease outbreaks through active surveillance and case finding.
      • Reduced transmission of highly infectious diseases in clinical and community settings.
      • Increased awareness, knowledge, and support for local disease outbreak response and prevention efforts at the community level.
      • Rapid identification and containment of highly infectious disease outbreaks.
    • Intermediate Outcomes
      • Reduced time to reinvigorated public health activities that have been interrupted or slowed due to outbreak response
      • Improved access to health services by individuals in outbreak affected areas
      • Increased capacity of countries for early warning, risk reduction and management of national and global health risks
    • Long-Term Outcomes
      • Sustained improvements in timeliness of achieving outbreak/epidemic/pandemic control
      • Reduced morbidity and mortality attributed to disease outbreaks or other public health threats
      • Reduced spread of infectious outbreaks into other countries
      • Improved preparedness for potential future outbreaks and other highly infectious diseases

Regions and Countries to be Targeted

While applicants can submit applications for any country or region, for Year 1 applicants are encouraged to submit applications for the countries or regions:

  • Countries: Bangladesh, Belize, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Colombia, China, Cote D’ivoire, DRC, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Laos, Liberia, Mali, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam
  • Central America Region: Guatemala, Honduras, Belize, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama and Dominican Republic.
  • Eastern Europe & Central Asia (EECA) Region: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.
  • South America (SA) Region: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.
  • West Africa (WA) Region: Burkina Faso, Benin, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.
  • Eastern Mediterranean (EM) Region: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Israel, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, State of Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen
  • Southeast Asia (SE) Region: Cambodia, Myanmar (Burma), Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, and Papua New Guinea

For more information, visit